2023 National Championships Final Report




The final day’s racing at the Enterprise Nationals saw a nail-biting finish with three contenders all vying for the top spot.  Waking up to an unusually overcast morning, Race Officer Marcus Wilkinson once again set a great course for the fleet to enjoy the solid easterly wind.  The battle was on between Matt & Ivan Jaycock against Tim Sadler and Richard Sault, with Phil Ford & Jane Humpage close behind.  The next leg saw Nigel and Andy Bird, followed by Vince Horey and Fresh Abendstern finding a left hand shift to gain ground on the leaders.  At the finish, it was disappointment for Phil Ford as he was disqualified for OCS, giving first place to the Jaycocks, with the Birds second and Sadler/Sault third.


The final race saw the sun reappear to maintain the champagne sailing conditions which had marked the whole event.  It also saw the first general recall of the event, with a few notable sailors getting overly cosy with the crew on the pin end RIB.  A quick turnaround by the race crew saw Jonathon Woodward with new-to-the champs crew Dan Swafield followed closely by Penzance Commodore Colin Stephens and Simon Lees lead the fleet with Woodward holding pole position to the finish, but sadly was OCS denying him the winning position.  Had Woodward not been OCS, this event would have seen eight different winners over the eight races.  But his premature start saw Sadler/Sault taking the gun, with the Jaycocks second and the Birds in third place. 


As the fleet sailed in, the exceptionally well-organised and super-friendly volunteer team at Penzance Sailing Club were once again ready to help with the trollies, serving welcome cups of tea in the dinghy park and even more appreciated free beer, cider and soft drinks on the club veranda handed out by the lovely Karen Bowdler from Looe SC.. 


After a sausage and mash supper, the fleet convened for the final night prizegiving which saw prizes spread out amongst the fleet.  Plymouth University sailors Sebi Schmidt and Lorelei Bates won the Classic Boat award (sail number under 22000) with Brian and Esther Bowdler from Looe SC winning The Generation Tray and Mr & Mrs Bird picking up the Rolling Pin Trophy for first couple (married or cohabiting) sailing together.  Encouraging more entrants to take part in the championships, Phil Sowden and Alex King from Highcliffe Sailing Club were awarded the ‘first time at the champs’ gift with their entry fee refunded (a great incentive to get more attendees!)


The Ron Brittain Trophy for first competitor under 18 was won by Dan Swaffield from South Staffs SC, with Lloyd Williams, crewed by Becca Knee from Penzance SC winning the Yachts and Yachting Trophy for first helm under 21.  Looe SC’s Dave Jackman won The Yachtsman Trophy for first helm over 40, with Ann Jackson crewed by Alan Skeens winning the Iris Bowl for first Lady helm and Andy Bird taking the Mary Arnold Baker Trophy for first lady in the event, whether helm or crew.  The Peter Squires Team Trophy was won by Looe SC, with Paul Young and Karin Sandler from Midland SC awarded the Ginga Trophy for lowest placed boat with all races competed (which was quite a feat considering the conditions faced by the fleet on “Big Sunday”).


Overall, it was Martin Honnor and Isabel Hedley Fenn who came 5th, with Phil Ford and Jane Humpage 4th overall awarded the Steve Nicholson Trophy.  With just two points between them, it was Vince Horey and Fresh Abendstern who came 3rd just behind Nigel and Andy Bird taking the Slim Pickins Transom Trophy for their 2nd position, and Roy Barker Trophy for veteran helm over 60. 


With beaming grins and numerous ‘man hugs’ to celebrate their reunion back in the boat after a seven-year absence, it was Tim Sadler and Richard Salt (aka Salty) from Yorkshire Dales SC who were the popular winners of the champs, winning the prized Gold Cup, Helensburgh Trophy, Pirate Trophy (counting all races sailed) and Admirals Trophy for Grandmaster Helm over 50, and Salty taking home The Betty Southworth Trophy for first crew over 40.


Final thanks went to the class sponsors including Noble and Goat Marine, and to all those from within the Enterprise Class who had worked so hard to make this event such a huge success, led by the ever energetic Steve Sargeant, supported by Julie Moore, Carol Ford, Ann Jackson, Charles Morrish, Johnny Allen and Paul Young.  Overall though it was a huge thank you to Penzance SC who hosted the event and supplied so many cheerful and hard-working volunteers. 


Next year’s Enterprise Championships will take place at Looe Sailing Club starting on 27th July.  Bound to be a hugely popular venue, the class hopes to see many more blue sails taking to the water for a week of fun and friendly activities both on and off the water.


Photos available here: https://www.photolounge.co.uk/Event-Images


By Alice Allen




Enterprise National Championship 2023

Penzance Sailing Club


Results are final as of 17:00 on 31/05/23


Sailed: 8, Discards: 1, To count: 7, Entries: 21, Scoring system: Appendix A
Rank SailNo Boat Name Club HelmName CrewName Race 1 Race 2 Race 3 Race 4 Race 5 Race 6 Race 7 Race 8 Total Nett
1st 23384 The Big Saulty Dog Yorkshire Dales SC Tim Sadler Richard Sault (16.0) 4.0 1.0 3.0 2.0 2.0 3.0 1.0 32.0 16.0
2nd 22456 Unlawful Entry R.Y.A. Nigel Bird Andy Bird 2.0 1.0 2.0 6.0 (9.0) 8.0 2.0 3.0 33.0 24.0
3rd 23349 Team Allen / P&B Race Team King George SC Vincent Horey Fresh Abendstern 1.0 2.0 3.0 4.0 5.0 (7.0) 4.0 7.0 33.0 26.0
4th 23270 Kitty Looe SC Phil Ford Jane Humpage 9.0 6.0 7.0 2.0 1.0 4.0 (22.0 UFD) 5.0 56.0 34.0
5th 22619 Riotvan Ogston SC Martin Honnor Isobel Hedley-Fenn 4.0 (22.0 DNF) 5.0 5.0 8.0 1.0 12.0 6.0 63.0 41.0
6th 23275 Wimp Looe SC Matt Jaycock Ivan Jaycock 5.0 7.0 9.0 7.0 (12.0) 12.0 1.0 2.0 55.0 43.0
7th 23421 Margret Looe SC Dave Jackman Mark Puckey 3.0 3.0 6.0 (22.0 UFD) 4.0 6.0 9.0 12.0 65.0 43.0
8th 22762 Churchfield 2 Looe SC Steve Sargent Eloise Jaycock 8.0 8.0 4.0 11.0 (13.0) 3.0 6.0 11.0 64.0 51.0
9th 23443 Wannabe Red South Staffs SC Jonathan Woodward Dan Swaffield 10.0 5.0 11.0 8.0 3.0 10.0 8.0 (22.0 UFD) 77.0 55.0
10th 23170 Harken Burghfield SC Ann Jackson Alan Skeens 13.0 (22.0 DNF) 15.0 9.0 11.0 5.0 7.0 8.0 90.0 68.0
11th 23308 Mad G Penzance SC Colin Stephens Simon Lees 6.0 (22.0 DNF) 13.0 14.0 17.0 14.0 13.0 4.0 103.0 81.0
12th 23169 Snow Picnic Looe SC Brian Bowdler Esther Bowdler 12.0 (22.0 DNF) 12.0 16.0 15.0 13.0 5.0 9.0 104.0 82.0
13th 22544 Comfortably Numb Penzance SC Jeremy Williams Elise Wedgewood Clark 11.0 (22.0 DNF) 8.0 1.0 14.0 9.0 20.0 22.0 DNF 107.0 85.0
14th 22501 Blue Job BCYC/Looe SC Alice Allen Nick Scutt 17.0 (22.0 DNF) 10.0 13.0 6.0 15.0 14.0 10.0 107.0 85.0
15th 22763 The Entertainer Highcliffe SC Phil Sowden Alex King (22.0 DNF) 9.0 14.0 12.0 16.0 16.0 10.0 14.0 113.0 91.0
16th 23015 Wedge E Burghfield SC Nick Jackson Rebecca Bradley 14.0 (22.0 DNF) 22.0 DNF 10.0 10.0 11.0 11.0 13.0 113.0 91.0
17th 23089 Simply Red St Mary’s Loch SC Charles Morrish Julie Moore 7.0 (22.0 DNF) 17.0 22.0 UFD 7.0 17.0 17.0 15.0 124.0 102.0
18th 22901 Out of the Blue Midland SC Paul Young Karin Sandler (19.0) 11.0 18.0 17.0 18.0 18.0 18.0 17.0 136.0 117.0
19th 21647 Plymouth University SC Sebi Schmidt Lorelei Bates 20.0 10.0 16.0 18.0 21.0 19.0 15.0 (22.0 DNF) 141.0 119.0
20th 21528 Penzance SC Lloyd Williams Becca Knee 18.0 (22.0 DNF) 19.0 15.0 20.0 20.0 16.0 16.0 146.0 124.0
21st 23159 Jibbooms and Bobstays Scammonden Water SC James Holdaway Owen Holdaway 15.0 (22.0 DNF) 20.0 19.0 19.0 21.0 19.0 22.0 DNF 157.0 135.0


[email protected]

Sailwave Scoring Software 2.25.11